Return From Writing Hiatus

Hello, hello! It has definitely been awhile…

I haven’t written in over a year and a half, having left my story very obviously unfinished. A turn of events in my life recently has gifted me with both the time and freedom to return to and finish my writing project.

Since returning from Central America in October 2013, my plans and path have changed drastically. Two posts ago, I wrote that I was living in Roseville, starting work at a restaurant again, and planning to visit everyone, save some money, write a lot, and look into grad school. None of that really happened, except for the temporary stay with my mom and saving some money.

I switched directions, moved back to the Bay Area, and started working a semi-corporate professional job as the Recruiting Director for a start-up financial services firm (that was under the corporate umbrella). While I learned an immense amount about business development and refined a skill set in that arena, it was probably one of the most stressful and high-pressure positions I will ever have in my life. It WAS my life for quite awhile, and all my time and energy went to recruiting, networking, community involvement, and everything else all about work. Consequently, it led to severe neglect of this lingering writing project that I think about on a daily basis.

In late April, the corporate office pulled the plug on our small firm (as well as all the other developing firms in California), merging us into an already independent agency of the company; my position was eliminated in the process. While it was sad to have everything we had worked to build just be taken away from us in a clean swoop, I am grateful to have experienced a corporate takeover at 28 years old and relieved that my stress level has significantly decreased.

I have enough of a cushion to take a couple months off now to complete my personal projects as well as do a thorough career exploration and select carefully before I make my next move. My experiences in the last few years have demonstrated the importance of identifying your passion, listening to your heart, and engaging with your calling. I am not going to ignore the opportunity I have been given at this point in my life.

I was lucky enough to go back to Guatemala in May for a short time; that trip will have a significant impact on how this story ends. I have only 8 chapters or so left to write for “Guatemala, Through My Eyes” and my commitment is that I’m not going to start a new job until I’m done writing this time (so I better write fast!!). These chapters are what you can expect for the remainder of the story:

Post-PC Travels: Nicaragua, Part 2

Visitors Galore, Final Round: Mom

Post-PC Travels: Costa Rica

Learning to Count Up

The Gringo Groove: Worlds 3 & 4

Sexy in Guatemala

Bolos, Chuchos, & Mangoes

A New Set of Eyes

The first three chapters are going to be lighter, sort of “froo-froo” chapters in how they relate to the overall conclusion, but they are part of the experience, nonetheless. I am hoping that my last five chapters will turn out to be some of the best writing and deepest exploration and sharing that I have done about Guatemala yet. I am planning for a strong finish.

So everything is ready now. I have all the templates for the remaining chapters up and partially outlined on my laptop, I have my purple pens and paper available for brainstorming, and I have a new journal that I have begun to write in again that will document this next leg of the journey. Oh, and last but not least: I bought a plane ticket to Southeast Asia. I figure that because I tend to write the best when I am out of the country, I might as well get my bum out of the country. I’m leaving in a couple weeks.

Ready, Set, WRITE!!!

Ready, Set, WRITE!!!

In addition to my remaining Guatemala chapters, while I am away, I will be writing short “Backpacking Bonus” posts with photos to document my adventures through Southeast Asia.

So please send well wishes and prayers my way for optimal health and safety, as well as focus, energy, and strength to write what needs to be written. In return, I will share my experiences with you as best as I can through stories and photos.

Again, I appreciate all the support, encouragement, and friendship coming from many of you who read. There are some of you whom I haven’t yet had the opportunity to visit in person since I have been back, but know that I always have you on my mind and hope to see you at some point soon.

Love,

Alexandra

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron Adelman
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 17:57:29

    Alexandra,

    It appears you are going to right the ship of writing passion, right? Write! 8*)

    There is no doubt you are a gifted writer. I am looking forward to reading your posts.

    Aaron Adelman

    Reply

    • Alexandra
      Jun 30, 2015 @ 23:47:15

      Yes, Aaron, I’m thinking that is my calling…at least for now. And I’m really excited, feeling empowered to engage and continue. 😀

      Great to hear from you!! Send my regards to the family!

      Reply

  2. Jim & Kathy Blaschke
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 18:41:18

    As Kahlil Gibran said in The Prophet, “Work is love made visible!” That is why following your passion and heart are so important! We have loved your blogs and wish you well in your pursuit!

    Reply

    • Alexandra
      Jun 30, 2015 @ 23:49:54

      Thank you, Jim and Kathy! I remember you both well and I appreciate the inspirational words. Love is definitely going to prevail!! I am learning that “heartspeak” and “Godspeak” are one and the same. It’s time to embrace it all. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Teri
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 21:21:56

    Yay, she’s back!!! Can’t wait to read the rest of your story, and maybe some of the new stories for Southeast Asia as well!!

    Reply

    • Alexandra
      Jun 30, 2015 @ 23:52:22

      YES!! I’m back! Thank you for being excited for me…it gets me more excited to continue. You know how important this is to me and that I will not be able to rest until it is finished. Haha! Southeast Asia will definitely be included. 😉

      Reply

  4. Eileen
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 22:12:48

    Mi bella, que Dios te Bendiga y te de salud!!

    Reply

    • Alexandra
      Jul 08, 2015 @ 18:38:25

      Muchas gracias, mi otra mamá! Te extraño y te quiero mucho. Te voy a llamar antes de irme. Que Dios les bendiga a ti y a tu familia, también. ❤

      Reply

  5. Cynthia Peterson
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 12:57:41

    Hello Dear Alex!

    It’s so good to hear from you!!! I’m happy that you’re heading out on a new venture and allowing yourself the time and space to complete your writing project. Good for you! I’ll certainly be looking forward to your new posts.

    And, I know that you know you’re always in my thoughts and prayers. May our sweet Jesus bless and keep you safe, clear headed, focused, courageously and joyfully moving forward on the straight path that He’s created for you. Alex, I pray too that you’re always covered securely in His peaceful presence.

    Love you bunches!

    Cynthia :0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 781 other followers

Calendar of Posts

June 2015
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Common Peace Corps Acronyms

PC = Peace Corps (sounds like "peese kor")
PCT = Peace Corps Trainee
PCV = Peace Corps Volunteer
PST = Pre-Service Training
ET = Early Termination
COS = Close of Service
NGO = Non-Governmental Organization
HH = Healthy Homes, the PC program I am in.
YD = Youth Development, the other program in my training group.

Disclaimer

Anything that is written or views expressed on this blog are mine personally and do not represent the Peace Corps or the United States government.
